Sudan: Sweet Potato, Spinach and Peanut Stew

I realised when cooking from The Gambia that many African dishes make use of peanuts. Some are actually just classified as ‘African’ or ‘West African’ stews – with little reference to the actual country (because they’re all quite similar). This was one was listed as a Sudanese Peanut Stew, although it is typically made with beef or chicken. Prior to finding those recipes I actually came across this vegan version and really liked the sound of it. So essentially this is a deviation from the typical Sudanese stew, but very similar nonetheless. The recipe I cooked can be found here, and I’ll say upfront that I honestly cannot fault one thing.

I made use of the delicious orange sweet potatoes (I admittedly don’t notice much taste wise, but they look epic in dishes). I crushed up some peanuts and added that to the mixture too, and then I also had some salted peanuts on the table that my guests could add to their stew if they wanted to. I received rave reviews about the dish and I froze some and ate it for the dinner the other day and it was just as good as I remembered it. This will be a regular in my household – especially for a meat free alternative.

I learnt that there is a difference between Sudan and South Sudan and want to make clear that this from Sudan. I will be making a South Sudan dish soon though!

IMG_7192

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Karen Maher says:

    Looks delicious

    Like

  2. Debbie says:

    Wow clare it’s a brilliant blog am so impressed well done xx

    Like

    1. clairemaher7 says:

      Thanks so much, Debbie. I thought you might actually like this Sudanese recipe – vegan friendly, nevermind just vegetarian, and really delicious 😊

      Like

Leave a comment