Tunisia: Khobz Talian

My earliest memory or knowledge of Tunisia was a Brainstrain (I think that’s what it was called) question we got given in Grade 3 (back in 1996). Basically in order to enhance our general knowledge we would get asked a couple of questions and had to go home and find the answers – these were sometimes questions from the current news. I can’t remember the exact wording of the question, but it was related to who our South African soccer team (Bafana Bafana) had beaten 2-0 in the final of the African Cup of Nations. The answer was Tunisia. I just googled about it now, and South Africa actually hosted that tournament. We had failed to qualify in 1994, and it was the first international appearance the team had made after the ban had been lifted at the end of Apartheid. A pretty good way to get back into the swing of things (just wish we could still be that good!)

Anyway, so that’s Tunisia (although more about South Africa really). I love making bread, so decided to give this a try pre Laura and Pete’s wedding celebrations (their official court wedding not the big party). I was taking along a platter of goods (have added a pic of this too), and thought some bread would be a good accompaniment. I was a little disappointed to be honest – I think I rolled it far too flat, so instead of taller rectangles they were flatter. Also, nobody, including myself, touched the bread at the party! It looked good but there were so many other items that it just didn’t get eaten. I took some home to my family the following day and my Dad said he liked it, so that’s positive. I tried some too and it was tasty, although not the most delicious bread I’ve ever made (see blog on Swiss Zopf or Israeli Challah for that!).

I’ll likely make a Tunisian dish again during the course of this cook – I feel there are so many other options and this recipe just didn’t do the country justice. So stand by for that at some stage.

Oh, lastly, the recipe can be found here.

IMG_2375

IMG_2376

Leave a Reply

