Bangladesh: Lamb Curry

Ah Bangladesh…when I first think of Bangladesh I think of cricket. The team has only ever won 10 test matches – 8 against Zimbabwe (not much of a feat really), and 2 against West Indies. They’re slightly better in ODIs with some wins against some of the stronger teams – NZ, England, India, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, and an entire ODI series win against South Africa in 2015 (I had no idea about this until now, and I’m bitterly disappointed!) I met many, many Bangladeshi guys while in Italy. Many of the market stalls are run by Bangladeshis. When poring over the leather market in Florence I met one guy who asked where I was from. I told him South Africa, and he went on to talk about Jonty Rhodes and Hansie Cronje being the best cricketers he knew. It made me so happy to hear our heroes (even though not everybody agrees) being spoken about in such high regard.

Anyway…on to the food!

I’m sure I don’t need to repeat myself, but I will. I love a curry. And I love my slow cooker. I stumbled upon this gem of a recipe by simply typing in ‘Bangladesh slow cooker’ into Google. Apart from the lamb pieces I had every ingredient, and spontaneously, in the middle of a slightly hungover Sunday, I set out to the shop to buy the Lamb and start the cooking process. Ok I’m lying ever so slightly, I didn’t have ‘Panch Phoran’ seeds but quickly found here that I could make my own. I didn’t have Nigella seeds, and only ground Fenugreek, but made it work with the ground Fenugreek, cumin seeds, fennel seeds and black mustard seeds.

So you basically fry up everything to start off with, and then transfer it to the slow cooker. The aroma coming from the pan with the combination of spices, the onion, and then the lamb was just indescribable. I feel like on Sunday I was one of those houses where you can smell the amazing food coming from, and you kind of wish you were invited (not to blow my own Bangladeshi horn or anything!).

So anyway, I cooked it up a bit in the pan and then transferred it to the slow cooker. I added about 2 cups of water because there was no liquid and that felt strange to me. I left it on high for about 3.5 hours and then on low for another hour. The result was spectacular! I added a little bit more water down the line, and then about 150ml plain yoghurt at the end. It was quite spicy, but just so so delicious. I’ve always been a bit hesitant to cook with lamb because I don’t like the idea of the bones. However, my brother and mother have both made delicious lamb dishes (potjie and stew respectively) and gave me a new respect for lamb and the bones.

As you can see it was incredibly easy to make, and will definitely be on the ‘Repeat’ list…especially for the upcoming bitter cold Joburg Winter!

IMG_2243

Leave a Reply

