Croatia: Bajadera Nougats

I’m not gonna beat around the bush. These Bajadera Nougats were the most delicious thing I’ve ever made in my whole life, and possibly the best thing I’ve ever tasted. Words cannot comprehend how much joy I felt, and how many endorphins were released when eating them…although my waistline and glucose level after eating them could probably give a pretty good indication.

When I first read the recipe it felt like I was one of the Masterchef contestants being given a 67 step recipe to follow, and even though I didn’t have the time pressure they do, it felt very daunting! I think it was daunting because it involved elements and types of cooking that I’ve never done before – like roasting the hazelnuts and then rubbing the skins off, or making a syrup (which I’ve only ever been unsuccessful with!). I persevered though and made them very successfully (in my opinion). Literally the only thing I can fault is that I didn’t smooth over the layers, so the chocolate glazing is a bit ragged looking. I’d lose points on Masterchef for presentation, but taste would take me straight into the immunity challenge…I’m pretty confident about that.

I had a number of tasters this time – because I knew I had to share the calories, and also I was really proud. Darryn, Mark, Laura, Paula and my work friends were all pretty impressed – commenting on how they tasted just like a Ferrero Rocher (Isn’t that like the best compliment ever) and taking seconds. I am so chuffed.

Croatia is on my list to visit, and if I can find some of these delightful morsels there (without having to work like a madwoman and a slave in the kitchen) I may come back with type 2 diabetes and fat pants.

 

Leave a Reply

