Czech Republic: Sušené švestky pečené ve slanině

I was in Prague for all of 36 hours in November and I fell in love with it over and over again during those 36 hours. It was one of the most magical cities I’ve ever traveled to. It was also probably the coldest I’ve ever been to date. The first morning we were there it snowed. Unfortunately not proper snow, but little bits that were definitely visible, with a lifespan of a minute or two once they touched the ground. But it still snowed. And it was magical. I realise this blog isn’t about my time in Prague, but more about the meal I cooked, but I had to share a little bit. Everybody needs to visit there at least once in their life. There is so much history and beauty and just, amazingness. I’ve included some pictures just so show how magical it is…

PicMonkey Collage

The only sort of fault that I can find is the food. And that’s mainly because I’m fussy. The desserts are incredible (chimney cakes being one of them), but the main food is a bit too meaty and ‘cabbagey’ for my liking. I wasn’t too happy with many of the recipes I found. When we were there I ate pizza I think. I did drink mulled honey wine though which was fantastic, and plenty of Pilsner Urquell and Budweiser (the Czech one, not the American one).

So this cook took a while to be planned. I delayed it by about a week because I just couldn’t find anything that I liked. I decided to combine my Malaysia and Czech cook (see next blog) so figured I could make some sort of starter/appetizer for the Czech part. And then I found ‘Sušené švestky pečené ve slanině’ – Dried plums (or prunes as we known them) wrapped in bacon. I can safely say at the ripe old age of 28 years and 11 months I have NEVER eaten a prune (and maybe not even a plum, although perhaps somewhere along the line it was hidden in a fruit salad). I was very apprehensive. But figured that the point of this cook was to try new things. And I’m so glad I did.

The recipe can be found here, but it’s literally prunes, with the pips out (try not to cut them, just push them out so the prunes maintain their shape) and then wrapped in bacon, with a toothpick around them. I bought a little packet of prunes, and only used 3 slices of bacon (cut in half). You keep them together with the toothpicks and I baked them at 180 for about 30 minutes – I actually forgot about them, but luckily they didn’t burn! They were absolutely delicious! The baking causes the prunes to soften and turn a bit ‘jammy’ for lack of a better word. They’re sweet and mixed with the saltiness of the bacon are just absolutely amazing. I was very chuffed. A very easy addition to the curry dip and Philadelphia cheese and SaltiCrax for a little family get together.

IMG_0113

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Prunes and bacon is one of those dishes that fell out of fashion for no good reason. They’re so good and easy too. Thanks for sharing and reminding me about this dish.

    Like

    1. clairemaher7 says:

      Thanks very much for taking the time to read and for the comment! I’m very excited that I’ve found this!

      Like

Leave a Reply

