Switzerland: Zopf

Heidi, Roger Federer, Martina Hingis (Loved her), Lindt Chocolate, The Alps, Princess Diaries (Oh no, that was Genovia, not Geneva), Trevor Noah’s dad, Jean Jacques Rousseau (who wrote ‘On Education’ which I think I studied at Varsity), good schools and great prisons (according to my work colleague) are what I think of when I think of Switzerland (admittedly I had to Google the Jean Jacques thing, but I do genuinely like his work). I also think of something Roger Federer once said in an interview…

70539841.jpg

Anyway, I knew I wouldn’t be able to replicate any form of Swiss chocolate, so I decided to go with one of the recipes that took my fancy when I was having a look – Swiss Zofp (bread). It is typically a bread eaten on Sundays (not sure why) and the name is derived from the shape of the bread, as ‘zopf’ means ‘braid.’

The braid part was the most exciting for me. When I looked at the recipe I realised I had never considered how this type of bread was made. When I think about it, I’ve probably seen it called ‘plaited’ or ‘braided’ bread in the shop, but the name still didn’t make me think about the process. You’ll see in the recipe and my pictures how it’s done, but to explain a bit…it’s super easy. You take your dough and form 3 long rolls (anybody who has ever played with playdough will do this with ease). And then you join the three pieces on one end, and start plaiting until the end where you tuck the ends underneath. As simple as that.

I didn’t follow the recipe entirely in the sense that I didn’t make wells in the mixture to pour the wet ingredients into. I just added it all together into my KMix. That machine has seriously changed my life and my attitude towards baking – especially bread products (Which is mine and any banting candidate’s downfall). It just makes life so much easier and really makes the process a bit more enjoyable. Whenever I knead the dough after making any dough I think of the very beautiful and talented Italin chef, Andrea, who I took the cooking class with in Rome. He made it all look very easy, but I definitely learned a thing or two about cooking from him.

The bread was a hit with Paula, and for the first time in a long time when showing a picture of the final product to my family, my Dad said I’ll have to make it when I next visit (he also asked if it was a Swiss roll but I think he was joking!).

PicMonkey Collage

IMG_9733

One Comment Add yours

  1. kaziokzn says:

    Looks delicious and I would definitely taste some x

    Like

Leave a Reply

