Denmark: Jakob’s Frikadellers

Last year in November I walked part of the Camino de Santiago, in Spain. It was the most incredible experience of my life, and my biggest physical and emotional achievement to date (and I only did 112km of it – more to come one day!). I planned to finish the walk in 6 days, but while walking from Melide on Day 4 I decided that I would skip the stop I had planned to stay in (16km away) and continue to the next place which would be approximately 33km of walking for that day. It didn’t seem so crazy at the time, but as I type this I feel quite amazed! Anyway, O Pedrouzo, where I aimed to stop for the day just never seemed to arrive. I was in incredible pain – I had blisters, and sore knees, and sore shoulders from my back pack. It was starting to get dark and about 1km before O Pedrouzo I met Jakob. He obviously noticed the limp as I walked (we called it the Camino Shuffle) and we started chatting. I established that he was in the process of becoming a psychoanalyst, and he wrote articles (we had a lot in common from the very beginning!). We ended up having tea together on arrival at our Albergue, went out for dinner with some other friends he introduced me to and laughed about the snoring people in our hostel (seriously terrible!) We didn’t walk any of the final day together, but met up in Santiago de Compostela and enjoyed more food, wine and chats about our lives and our jobs. He really was one of the most remarkable people to meet on my trip, and we continue to keep in touch to this day.

Anyway, when I told him about ‘Cook the World’ he told me he would show me how to make Danish Frikadellers (basically Danish meatballs). I asked him to send me his recipe, and he did one better – he made a video. I unfortunately cannot add the video directly into this post, but you can find it on YouTube, here (It’s not edited – I didn’t have time for that). You’ll see that it was snowing in Denmark when he made the video (think it was sometime in January). I kept the video, and recently asked Jakob for more definite quanitites of the ingredients (you know how I am with that sort of thing), and so he directed me to this website. (It has to be translated but it’s pretty helpful!) I made the Frikadellers and they were incredible. I didn’t chop the onion finely enough unfortunately, so ended up picking much of it out because it didn’t all cook through properly. Still very tasty though. I made some mash to go with the Frikadellers, and warmed up some tinned chopped tomatoes with some chilli powder to make a little gravy. I unfortunately didn’t take many pictures, but they were super easy to make.

Jakob was super chuffed with the outcome, and especially happy that his recipe was being used in South Africa. Denmark isn’t just about vikings, but also delicious Frikadellers and great friends!

IMG_9419.JPG

Leave a Reply

