Turkey: Turkish Delight

Turkish Delight is one of my most favourite things in the whole world. I’ve liked it for as long as I can remember. The normal pink, rose water flavour is my favourite, but if its placed in front of me I’ll eat any type! I like it with chocolate, I like it with a little icing sugar, or buried in icing sugar! This doesn’t mean I’m not fussy about the flavour or texture of it – some brands are not as tasty as others and just don’t have the ‘x factor.’ Turkish Delight is always one of the snacks I get bought for my birthday or Christmas, and most of my family and friends know how much I love it.

Anyway, so it seemed only fitting that I made Turkish Delight during this week. I was delighted (haha) to see that the various recipes are not that difficult. There were some that used corn flour which I decided to avoid – I think I’ve expressed my concern over the accompanying corn flour flavour, and really didn’t want this in my Turkish Delight. I managed to find rose water quite easily and inexpensively- something I thought for some reason was quite obscure and expensive. The recipe I used was admittedly the one linked to the most aesthetically pleasing pictures of Turkish Delight. Some might say “don’t judge a recipe by the pictures”, but I haven’t been wrong yet. The recipe I used can be found here.

I opted not to use the lemon rind, as I didn’t want any unnecessary lumps in the Turkish Delight. I used this website to help me with a useful substitute, and ended up using 2 Tbsp lemon juice in place of the lemon rind. When I tasted the mixture it seemed to be a perfect balance of flavours (I should be on Masterchef). I chose to let the mixture set in the fridge instead of quickly in the freezer. However, I got impatient so I took it out the fridge and put it into the freezer for about 10 minutes.

As can be seen in the pictures before the final product, there was a discolouration on top when I put it into the fridge, and when I removed it. I realised that it was a gelatinous skin that had developed on top – I’m not entirely sure why. From what I’ve seen it may have been from the cooling process, but I’m not sure. This made things a bit difficult afterwards because I had to pull the skin off – it was quite tough, but I did manage. The pieces of Turkish Delight are absolutely amazing in taste – really one of the best I’ve ever tasted. My only concern is that they’re slightly flimsy, although not watery, and I’m wondering if this has something to do with much of the gelatin being in the skin I removed, and less then in the mixture. I’m not sure though.

Either way, I am absolutely delighted (I had to use it again), and will definitely be making it again. Although perhaps next time I’ll make it for an event, and not make it to be tempted with it sitting in my fridge all day!

Collage

IMG_9354

Leave a Reply

