Greece: Jamie’s Mighty Moussaka

I had initially thought that I would make pita’s with a variety of toppings and fillings, but this is actually pretty boring and I make it often. I also toyed with the idea of Spanakopita (which I vow to make someday soon). But my mum suggested moussaka. Well actually she said “you’re obviously making moussaka!” So obviously I made moussaka!

Comfort-Food-Cover-Canada-1.jpg

When I moved into my new house my beautiful friend, Laura bought me ‘Jamie’s Comfort Food’ (Jamie being Jamie Oliver obviously). It has some of the most incredible recipes – although admittedly not ones that you want to cook when you’re trying to be healthy (not that the food isn’t healthy, it’s just a bit too comforting!). It seemed rude not to use Jamie’s Mighty Moussaka recipe when I stumbled across it. It was easy to follow, and the previous meals I’ve cooked from the book have been outstanding (if I do say so myself!). I’ll upload the recipe soon – I can’t seem to find it online!

There were so many elements involved – so many stages. And you couldn’t really sit back while something was cooking because there was always something else to be done in the interim. It was a good 2.5 hour job. It wasn’t difficult, just long.

The one part I buggered up is where the recipe called to cut the brinjal lengthways, and I cut them in circles – you’ll see from the picture that there are some that are round and some that are long. I also struggles to cut them evenly, and was initially worried they were too thick, but they actually cooked really well at the end. (oh, also, the brinjal were SUPER difficult to find in the shops. I struggled big time, only finding some tiny miniatures in some stores, but eventually striking lucky at the Woolworths near my house – Thank you ever faithful Woolies!).

I am also super proud (although maybe at 28 years old I should be embarrassed) to say that I made my first, very successful Bechamel sauce! It just worked so well, and I was really stoked with the outcome. You add nutmeg to it which adds a delicious flavour. (I am aware now though that I can make many sauces from this basic Bechamel, which is very exciting!).

I admittedly ate most of it to myself, but have frozen some for my mother and dear aunt and hopefully they will give me some positive feedback – although I thought it was absolutely delicious, and I will definitely be making it again.

IMG_9077IMG_9084

PicMonkey Collage

IMG_9094

2 Comments Add yours

  1. kaziokzn says:

    Absolutely delicious. Thank you angel 💕

    Like

Leave a Reply

