Peru: Peruvian Green Sauce

My brother did something pretty smart this time around – something I hadn’t thought about. He didn’t make a whole dish, but made something to complement another ‘normal meal.’ I think it’s quite a helpful approach for some of the countries that feel really obscure, but also realistic when he’s cooking at home for 2 fussy people (as he’s mentioned before). This way he or my mom can make a dish that everybody enjoys, and it can be complemented by his recipe.

My mom makes an epic Parmesan chicken. I think she got the recipe from our friend Margie Harel at cooking course one night many moons ago (she owns The Fat Aubergine in Pietermaritzburg – it’s to die for! If you drive anywhere near PMB you have to stop there and have Margie’s brownies! Seriously!). Anyway so this Parmesan chicken is basically chicken breasts (quite thinly sliced into chicken flatties), dipped in egg and Parmesan cheese (I think, Mom? Correct me if I’m wrong). It’s to die for. These then get fried in the electric frying pan (it used to be lightly, now it’s in butter #banting!). My mom sometimes makes a creamy Pepperdew sauce to go with it. This time it seemed that Tom’s Peruvian Green Sauce was replacing that. The recipe can be found here.

I know Tom prides himself on his fresh ingredients, so I think it’s safe to say the chillies are out of his garden at home. My brother, being the man of few words that he is, said that the sauce was “amazing.”

Leave a Reply

